Waiting on Wednesday (6)

wownew

Waiting on Wednesday weekly event that spotlights upcoming-releases that bloggers are most excited about.  This week’s I-can’t-wait book is: The Bitter Kingdom by Rae Carson.  The Bitter Kingdom will be released on August 27, 2013 by HarperCollins Publishers.

Bitter kingdom

The Bitter Kingdom
By Rae Carson

“Rae Carson has proved she’s a master and has shaken up the YA genre.”-USAToday.com

The epic and deeply satisfying conclusion to Rae Carson’s Fire and Thorns trilogy. The seventeen-year-old sorcerer-queen will travel into the unknown realm of the enemy to win back her true love, save her country, and uncover the final secrets of her destiny.

“Carson joins the ranks of writers like Kristin Cashore, Megan Whalen Turner, and Tamora Pierce as one of YA’s best writers of high fantasy.”-Locus magazine

Elisa is a fugitive in her own country. Her enemies have stolen the man she loves in order to lure her to the gate of darkness. As she and her daring companions take one last quest into unknown enemy territory to save Hector, Elisa will face hardships she’s never imagined. And she will discover secrets about herself and her world that could change the course of history. She must rise up as champion-a champion to those who have hated her most. Riveting, surprising, and achingly romantic, Rae Carson has spun a bold and powerful conclusion to her extraordinary trilogy. (Goodreads)

Why I Can’t Wait: 

I never even knew about this series until one day earlier this year the first book was on sale.  The premise of a flawed main character: a young girl who was overweight and under-appreciated struck me as so unique and underdone in YA.  Couple that with the fact that everyone expected her to be extraordinary, but she never felt that way, and I was sold.  And MAN, was I rewarded with what is now one of my favorite series.  Yes, Elisa was flawed, naive, and just trying to figure out life.  But when she needs to, she stands up for those who need her and has a faith and fervor that makes her a really great role model.

And of course, I really want more Hector time.  EEK!

About the Author

raecarsonI write books about teens who must do brave things. I’m originally from California, but I moved to Ohio to marry my husband, who is the smartest and therefore sexiest man I know. We live in Columbus with my teenage stepsons, who are awesome. My books tend to contain lots of adventure, a little magic and romance, and smart girls who make (mostly) smart choices. I especially love to write about questions I don’t know the answers to. (Photo and bio from Goodreads.com)

Connect with Rae

goodreads twitter facebook mail

Buy the Series

Click below to purchase the books on Amazon:
The Series
  

The Novellas
  

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

Follow on Bloglovin

33 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday (6)

  1. I have Girl of Fire & Thorns sitting on my shelf, but still on my to-read list eh. If you think this series is so good,I’ll probably read it tonight :)Oh btw I like your blog very simple and chic 😉

    Here’s my WoW post: Teen Readers’ Diary

  2. I absolutely love this series as well. The first one was kind of a turn off in some ways (I am skinny so now I can rule!), but I really loved the relationship build in the second one. Can’t wait for the last one!

    • I can definitely see that side of it… I guess I saw it more of her gaining some confidence… And getting over her habit of stuffing her face to stuff down her feelings. As a person who doesn’t like to confront my feelings and issues, I just kind of related with her. But your right, the second one was ❤

      Did you see there is one more novella before the final book is out? And it's ALL about Hector!

      • Before your post I didn’t know there were novellas at all! I will definitely be checking them out! And I also saw that side of it (and think it’s what the author intended as well).

        • Shadow Cats features her sister, Shattered Mountain features her friend that cooks (I can’t remember the girl’s name!), and King’s Guard will feature Hector. The first two were great and really added depth to the stories!

  3. Oh my goodness, you are going to LOVE The Bitter Kingdom. I haven’t written my review yet, but I’ll probably end up reading it again before then anyway. So much awesome. And HECTOR. Oh my! And yes for the flawed character who becomes so much more! I hope you get to read this soon!!! Thanks for sharing & stopping by!

    • I requested it yesterday (I didn’t know it was on Edelweiss until someone else mentioned it) so I HOPE I can get it soon enough!

      And yes, I’ll be re-reading the others so I can read them all at once.

  4. Thanks for stopping by and commenting! I love your layout…I’m trying to plan a new/unique look for mine 🙂
    You fangirled over my WoW (Crown of Midnight), and now I have to fangirl over yours! I lovvve this series…I just…yeah, I love it. You will not be disappointed by this book 🙂

    • Thank you! I just did a redesign, so I’m kinda obsessed over it right now. 🙂

      Yay for fangirls! And man, that’s another book I’ve gotta get my hands on!

Lovely words from lovely people!

