Summer Read-a-Thon: Day 4

The Summer Lovin’ Read-A-Thon is hosted by Reviewing Wonderland and takes place this week July 1-7.  It’s not too late to sign up if you want to be involved!

Tears On My Pillow

Today’s participation post asks us to:
share a quote from your current read or tell us about a book that really pulled on your heart strings. What was it about that book/quote that made you cry?

And luckily, the last book I read was one that made me sob like a baby, so it is PERFECT for this topic!

losinghope
Losing Hope
By Colleen Hoover
Synopsis:

In Hopeless, Sky left no secret unearthed, no feeling unshared, and no memory forgotten, but Holder’s past remained a mystery.

Still haunted by the little girl he let walk away, Holder has spent his entire life searching for her in an attempt to finally rid himself of the crushing guilt he has felt for years. But he could not have anticipated that the moment they reconnect, even greater remorse would overwhelm him…

Sometimes in life, if we wish to move forward, we must first dig deep into our past and make amends. In Losing Hope, bestselling author Colleen Hoover reveals what was going on inside Holder’s head during all those hopeless moments—and whether he can gain the peace he desperately needs.

My Take:

If anyone has read Hopeless (or ANY Colleen Hoover book), you know there are going to be tears involved.  I’ve been SO anxious to get this book.  When I got it from Netgalley, I had it read within 24 hours.  I made the mistake of starting it while my son was at therapy. So, there I am in a bright yellow waiting room with all these other people, and I’m bawling my eyes out. AND THAT WAS FROM THE FIRST CHAPTER!  Yeah, I learned my lesson.

I can’t share quotes, since I have an ARC, but I have SO many highlights that I’ll be looking up when I get my copy!  I can’t wait to review this book — it was definitely even better than I was expecting it to be.  Just take my word for it – you want to read this one.

Challenge Post: Book Spine Poetry

Today’s challenge is Book Spine Poetry.  Here’s an explanation from Oh Chrys!

Hey everybody! I am hosting the Summer Lovin’ Readathon challenge for today which is book spine poetry. It is pretty self-explanatory. All you have to do is create a poem, spanning any topic or length using the titles on book spines. You then take a photo of them all stacked up and ready to read! Of course, if you are unable to do that, you can make a text based poem, being sure to link the titles to Goodreads so we can scope out the book! You do not have to use only books you are reading for Summer Lovin’ or summer-themed books!

This challenge was kind of hard, since SO many of my books live on my Kindle.  Here’s what I came up with:

2013-07-04 10.10.22

Die for me, for darkness shows the stars
Hold still, my name is memory
Everything is illuminated before I go to sleep

Well there you go! You try it, it’s fun 🙂

heartjessteal

Read-a-thon Results:
Viral Nation: COMPLETED
Losing Hope: COMPLETED
Life After Theft: 32%

19 thoughts on “Summer Read-a-Thon: Day 4

  1. Have you read Before I Go to Sleep? It’s one of the best books ever. If you haven’t read it, you definitely should ^^

  2. It comes as no surprise that Losing Hope would be a fitting choice for todays topic, although I have not read it yet. I did consider using a quote from Hopeless though. Nice poem!

  3. I really enjoyed your spine poem. It was so great. And the book you shared. I have so much to read now. 🙂

Lovely words from lovely people!

