Author Interview & GIVEAWAY — Red Threads by Stacey J. Mitchell

bookspotlight

Today we are taking a look at an awesome book: Red Threads by Stacey J. Mitchell.  In addition to spotlighting the book and chatting with Stacey, we are giving away THREE copies of Red Threads!

About the Book

7e4e1-redthreadsfinalmed

Twenty-six-year-old Lily Robinson has her dream job in a museum, a great boyfriend, and is happy with her life – until the day she starts seeing red threads growing out of the chests of those around her.

That same day Lily meets a stranger who seems to know her and understand what she is seeing. Lily doesn’t believe him when he says she has a special ability, and it’s only when he saves her life that she accepts something very strange is happening to her.

Lily’s life is rapidly turned upside-down when she gets thrown into the world of fate and meets the beings who influence it.

Can she learn to control her ability to help herself and those around her who need it most?

Will she actually want to when she finds out what she has to do?

The first novel in the Fateliner series, Red Threads is a contemporary fantasy that looks at how fate can change lives and relationships in an instant.

Right now, Red Threads is on sale for $1.45!  Get it before the deal is gone!

Buy from Amazon:

Add to Goodreads:

Wanna know what I thought of Red Threads?  Take a look at my review!

About the Author

staceyjmitchell

I am a tea drinker and history geek who lives in south Wales. I love reading, being outdoors, cooking, and stand-up comedy—but I don’t like bananas and insects.

I have been writing stories ever since I could hold a pen. I have a degree in Egyptology, and I love writing so much that I even enjoyed my university coursework.

Red Threads is my first novel (but will be the first of many).

Connect with me on Twitter or through my website.

Inside the Author’s Head

Welcome to the blog! Can you first tell readers what drew you to write this story?

Thank you for having me, Jessica! It started when I was doing the A-to-Z blogging challenge in 2012. I had decided to write my 26 alphabetised posts on the mythology of different cultures, and chose to write about the red thread of fate for my ‘R’ post. It wasn’t something I had heard much about when I first wrote the post, but it was a concept that instantly stuck in my mind.

Can you talk about the red threads/string theory? What kind of research did you do to build your story around it?

In Chinese and Japanese mythology, a red string connects two people who are destined to be together (ankle to ankle in Chinese mythology, little finger to little finger in Japanese). I adapted this to use the red thread as more of a general indicator of someone’s fate. I suppose the book is only very loosely based on this concept, and I let my imagination go crazy with the rest of it!

How did your studies and experiences in life help shape who you are as a writer and your books?

I have a degree in Egyptology, and I have always been fascinated by history, ancient history in particular. I’ve always been interested in the social side of history and especially people’s beliefs, as that often drives the rest of their behaviour. I guess it was this fascination that prompted me to blog about mythology, and that sparked the idea for the Fateliners.

Other than that, I’ve always been encouraged to read all kinds of book genres. My mum is a big reader, and she has always said that when I was little I would sit for hours with my books—and I guess in that respect at least, some things never change!

Okay, so I always like to see what authors read. What are your top five favorite books and why?

Divergent by Veronica Roth. I had only just started reading YA books when I picked this up, and it completely blew me away.

Shantaram by Gregory David Roberts. This is an amazing story set mostly in India about an Australian convict who escapes prison and goes on the run. I read this in 2008, and although it takes a lot for a book to stay fresh in my head—mainly due to my awful memory—this one has.

Every Harry Potter book! This one is kind of obvious, but as someone who loves fantasy books set in the real world (or at least partly in the real world!) this whole series is a definite.

A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini. I just love Khaled Hosseini’s writing style, and he writes beautiful stories about tough subjects. I loved the Kite Runner almost as much as A Thousand Splendid Suns.

The Guardian Angel’s Journal by Carolyn Jess-Cooke. Coincidentally I read this book when considering the red thread blog post I had written for the A-to-Z challenge, and it made me think more deeply about fate.

Night owl or early bird? How does it help with your writing process?

I’m more of an early bird than a night owl. I certainly write better in the morning. I try to make sure that I’ve hit my target word count for the day by lunch time, because after lunch my energy levels tend to slump! I’m good for nothing creative in the afternoon…

Did you always know you wanted to be an author?

I’ve always written stories of one kind or another, but I never really thought I could be an author. I never considered submitting a novel to agents, but when self-publishing became so commonplace and accepted, I knew I could do that. I like being in control and doing things my way, so self-publishing seemed the logical thing to do!

If you could live in one ‘book world’ which one would it be and why?

When I was younger I always wanted to visit the Enchanted Wood from the Faraway Tree series of books by Enid Blyton. I used to read them over and over and wish that I could be friends with Moonface and Silky the fairy! I think it would be amazing to visit that world now, even as an adult!

Where do you think your characters are headed in the future?

Things are definitely going to get tougher for my characters. Lily finds herself with a lot more responsibility in the second book due to circumstances beyond the Fateliners’ control, and certain events in the book really devastate Aver. I don’t want to say too much because the last thing I want to do is spoil the story!

When can we expect to see book two hit the shelves?

I’m aiming to have book two out by the end of the year—hopefully November, maybe December. The first draft was finished mid-July, and I’ll be starting the edits very soon.

Take a Sneak Peak

Lily and her father went into the station building to check that her train was on time and find out its platform number. After they had made their way out on to platform two, Lily turned to her father.

“Dad, are you all right? You and Mum, I mean.”

The expression on his face was unreadable, and he casually looked around at some of the other passengers waiting nearby. “Why do you ask, love?”

Lily noticed that he hadn’t tried to reassure her instantly. “I just feel like all I see you two do lately is argue. I don’t know, maybe I’m overreacting.”

“Oh, you know, people argue,” he said, starting to fiddle with the collar of his polo shirt. “It’s not the end of the world, just a rough patch. We all have them.”

“You’re going to have to do better than that if you want to convince me.”

People were beginning to gather in clusters here and there, signalling the train’s imminent arrival. There was a youngish couple nearby standing very close together, arms locked around each other, whispering. They started kissing, and Lily looked away. Usually public displays of affection turned her stomach, but today it just made her think of Nick. She couldn’t wait to get back to him and back to normality.

Lily’s father stuck his hands in his pockets and looked both ways down the platform, but his face was still unreadable. Lily saw him open his mouth to reply to her, but she didn’t have a clue what he said. An excruciating pain flashed across her forehead and her vision failed for a few seconds.

When she could bear to open her eyes again, the pain was gone and every single person on the platform was attached to a woven red rope. It seemed to grow out of their chests, just as the hair grows on a person’s head, and then disappeared off into the distance or into the chest of a person nearby.

She looked around with a queasy feeling of muted horror sitting in a lump in her chest. The ropes passed through buildings and people, never tripping anyone up or getting in the way. The people around her didn’t even seem aware of their tethers.

Looking around, Lily saw that everyone had one of the ropes growing out of their chests, including her father. But when she looked down at her own chest, there was nothing there. 

 

 

giveawaybutton

Stacey has GRACIOUSLY offered to give three e-book copies away.  Enter below.  The contest is open internationally, August 6 through August 30 (12 am EST).  No purchase necessary and void where prohibited!

Click here to enter!

14 thoughts on “Author Interview & GIVEAWAY — Red Threads by Stacey J. Mitchell

  1. Pingback: Interview and Red Threads on Sale! | Stacey J. Mitchell

  2. Lovely interview, Stacey and Jess!
    Stacey, I remember your A-Z series, but didn’t realise it had sparked Red Threads for you. Best wishes for the edits of Bk 2 and thank you for introducing me to Jess’ blog. 🙂

Lovely words from lovely people!

