A to Z Bookish Survey

AtoZsurvey

By now you’ve seen this adorable A to Z survey going around, thanks to The Perpetual Page-Turner (who also is to thank for this lovely graphic).  Enjoy and feel free to do one of your own.

Author you’ve read the most books from:

If I was going to guess, I’d say J.K. Rowling, but according to Goodreads she is THREE.  One is the lovely Rachel Vincent (Soul Screamers series, with C.S. Lewis rounding out second.

Although, if I’m being honest, it would probably be Carolyn Keene.  I’m pretty sure I’ve read every single Nancy Drew book at least one.

Best Sequel Ever:

Oi, ever? Insurgent by Veronica Roth and I’m HOPING I can add Crown of Midnight to this in a few weeks!

 Currently Reading:

The Naturals by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Drink of Choice While Reading:

Umm, depends.   I usually just drink whatever we have.  But my favorites are cranberry juice, coke, and tea.

 E-reader or Physical Book?

E-reader for convenience.  It’s cheaper *usually* and easier when I’m reading so many books.  Plus, I can carry it anywhere and have so many books to choose from at any time, avoiding the Rory Gilmore problem.  However, if it is a book that’s special to me, or has a beautiful cover, I’m all about buying it in print.  Therefore, I have a lot of books in both e-reader/print form.  Probably makes the publishers happy to have a book addict like me.

Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated In High School:

Augustus Waters. For sure.

 Glad You Gave This Book A Chance:

The Fault in Our Stars – I read it right after it first came out and not much was known about it.  I debated on the book for days.  Quickly after starting it, I was blown away that I could ever contemplate not reading this book.

 Hidden Gem Book:

Incarnate & Asunder by Jodi Meadows

  Important Moment in your Reading Life:

  1. When my dad took me to the library as a kid and the librarian introduced me to Nancy Drew.
  2. When ‘Santa’ gave me Harry Potter Christmas 1999.  None of my friends had even heard of it and I found myself reading books 1-3 over and over again until the popularity caught on.
  3. When I started my book blog!  This has been the most incredible and life-affirming thing I’ve ever done.  It brings me so much joy and happiness.

 Just Finished:

Hourglass & Timepiece by Myra McEntire (rereading to prepare for Infinityglass!)

 Kinds of Books You Won’t Read:

Erotica, politics, law, Westerns, Werewolves, Vampires

 Longest Book You’ve Read:

Series: Harry Potter series (4,100 pages)

Book: IT by Stephen King (1,090 pages)

 Major book hangover because of:

This year there have been two. Requiem by Lauren Oliver and My Soul to Save by Rachel Vincent

Number of Bookcases You Own:

I use those stackable milk crates as shelves.  I have 10 of those and one book shelf.  I also have 4-5 boxes of books in storage my husband refuses to let me bring in the house. This my friends is why he bought me my e-reader in the first place.

One Book You Have Read Multiple Times:

All the Harry Potter books, Divergent books, Hunger Games books

 Preferred Place To Read:

In bed, although I’m asking for a reading chair for Christmas.  Also the tub and pool. (Yes, the pool.  Thank God for Ziploc quart size baggies).

 Quote that inspires you/gives you all the feels from a book you’ve read:

spentmylife

tfios_original

Reading Regret:

For not reading when I was a new mom.  I kind of gave up books for a while. I’ll never get that time back!

 Series You Started And Need To Finish(all books are out in series):

Under the Never Sky and Blood Red Road

 Three of your All-Time Favorite Books:

Divergent, The Fault in Our Stars, These Broken Stars

 Unapologetic Fangirl For:

Authors: Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Veronica Roth

Books: Divergent, Throne of Glass, The Fault in Our Stars

Other: Doctor Who, Game of Thrones, Supernatural

 Very Excited For This Release More Than All The Others:

Allegiant (duh!), Crown of Midnight (duh!), and Fangirl (duh!)

 Worst Bookish Habit:

Buying/borrowing/requesting books when I already have SO MANY to read

Tuning out the world when I’m reading – drives my family crazy

 X Marks The Spot: Start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book:

mynameismemory

Your latest book purchase:

Infinityglass by Myra McEntire

ZZZ-snatcher book (last book that kept you up WAY late):

Haha, when doesn’t a book keep me up!  But These Broken Stars – I tried to go to sleep twice and finally gave up so I could finish it.  It wouldn’t let go!

heartjessteal

9 thoughts on “A to Z Bookish Survey

  1. Holy crap. I never thought about how long the Harry Potter series is as a whole, but 4100 pages?? Jeeze, it’s no wonder I didn’t do anything meaningful as a kid but read. Great survey! I just love reading everyone’s answers 🙂

  2. I smiled when you mentioned the “Rory Gilmore” problem. #1 I *adore* that show. #2 I had the SAME problem in college. I can’t wait to read My Name is Memory!

Lovely words from lovely people!

