These Broken Stars — Book Review

these-broken-stars

The Deets

author: Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner

released: December 10, 2013

format: e-book, hardcover, audiobook

pages: 384 pages

publisher: Disney-Hyperion

read: July 26-27, 2013

acquired: Netgalley

book pages: Amazon.com  • Goodreads.com  •  Author’s Website    •  Author’s Website

book type: YA, NA, science fiction, fantasy, aliens, survivalist

The Down-low

It’s a night like any other on board the Icarus. Then, catastrophe strikes: the massive luxury spaceliner is yanked out of hyperspace and plummets into the nearest planet.

Lilac LaRoux and Tarver Merendsen survive. And they seem to be alone.

Lilac is the daughter of the richest man in the universe. Tarver comes from nothing, a young war hero who learned long ago that girls like Lilac are more trouble than they’re worth. But with only each other to rely on, Lilac and Tarver must work together, making a tortuous journey across the eerie, deserted terrain to seek help.

Then, against all odds, Lilac and Tarver find a strange blessing in the tragedy that has thrown them into each other’s arms. Without the hope of a future together in their own world, they begin to wonder—would they be better off staying here forever?

Everything changes when they uncover the truth behind the chilling whispers that haunt their every step. Lilac and Tarver may find a way off this planet. But they won’t be the same people who landed on it.

The first in a sweeping science fiction trilogy, These Broken Stars is a timeless love story about hope and survival in the face of unthinkable odds. (From Goodreads.com)

Why You Should Buy It

This Titantic meets Shades of Earth is a combination of all things to love in YA.  A blend of old world and future, it will leave readers spellbound.  The book is smart, mysterious, and will make a sci-fi fan out of anyone who happens across it.   If you’re looking for the next big thing, pick up These Broken Stars — you won’t regret it.

My Thoughts

*I received this e-book in exchange for an honest review via Netgalley.*

Let’s all just take a moment to stare at the gorgeousness that is that cover. Seriously!  The first time I saw it, I had no idea what the book was about, but I knew I had to read it.  So of course finding out it is basically my favorite kind of book was just icing on the cake.  The beautiful stars, the way that PERFECT green dress just billows out into space, and two people reaching desperately for one another.  ❤

I’ve also got to take a moment to thank Disney-Hyperion for so graciously providing the ARC.  This is probably the most excited I’ve been about receiving a book on Netgalley.  I may or may not have done an embarrassing happy dance in public.  (And by may or may not I mean I definitely did.)  Of course, the entire time I was reading, I kept having to go back and just stare at the beautiful cover. Le sigh.

So, as you may have heard this book is like Titanic in space.  And we all know what happens to the unsinkable ship.  Except in this case, the unsinkable ship is a ship pulled out of hyperspace.  Thanks to some quick thinking of Tarver and Lilac’s ingenuity, the two are able to make it to a pod and crash land on a nearby planet.  They come to find they are the lucky ones on board this ship of 50,000.

Lilac and Tarver are from two different worlds.  She is the daughter of the richest man in the world, a man who doesn’t want any guys near his daughter.  So of course, after a chance meeting where they are definitely sparks, Lilac must pretend she couldn’t care less about Tarver’s attention.  They get into a few skirmishes that of course leaves them at odds and provides tension for most of the book.  I swear, if people communicated, 75% of the books I read wouldn’t exist.  But we humans just love to not communicate our true feelings and we LOVE to assume what other people think and feel.

I felt like this book picked up where Beth Revis’ Shades of Earth ended.  Here we have this uninhabited planet that is fully able to sustain life.  With of course weird creatures and things that go bump in the night.  I have to admit there were times I was seriously creeped out and had to hide under the covers.  We know there is something there, but we have no idea what and Kaufman and Spooner do a fabulous job of giving the reader just enough to be intrigued and frightened at the same time.

For me this book was just perfection.  It was everything I love in a book: space, new worlds, a bit of mystery, beautiful descriptions, and a really great love story.   The world Kaufman and Spooner builds is absolutely incredible, and so realistic I could see everything as Lilac and Tarver were living it (and I’m NOT a visual person at all!)  And the twist, the big reveal, was really just brilliant.  It is so smart, so subtle that you don’t see the plot set out in front of you until you are right up on the events.

The book made me smile, laugh, cry, and REALLY cry.  I broke down for awhile.  It took up all my attention and I really just didn’t want it to end.  At one point, I woke up from a dead sleep, because I just had to know what happened next.  Few books have sucked me into the story the way this one did.

There are books that we all love to talk about to everyone we meet.  For me, one of those books is These Broken Stars.  I am recommending it to anyone and everyone and I know it is going to be a major hit – which is why I’m so thrilled and honored to be in on the ground floor.  I said it when I finished reading and I truly mean it: This book is my absolute favorite of the year and is now in my top ten favorites of all time.  So, I’m serious when I say, you’ve GOT to get this book!

Rating

5stars

bannerthese-broken-stars

12 thoughts on “These Broken Stars — Book Review

  1. Oh I hadn’t even considered this one because I rarely like sci-fi, but this sounds WONDERFUL! I’m so glad I stopped to read this review. I’m definitely putting this on my to-read list. Thanks for that lovely review or I may have missed this gem!

  2. This cover. Holy shit. I really could care less about covers, honestly but OH MY GOD THIS COVER.

    Also this story. I am SO excited for this book to come out…I want it to be NOW!!

  3. Pingback: New Reads Monday — Week of December 10 | Such A Novel Idea

  4. Pingback: It’s My Birthday and YOU Can Win! | Such A Novel Idea

Lovely words from lovely people!

