Blog Tour & GIVEAWAY — Goodbye, Rebel Blue by Shelley Coriell

Goodbye_Rebel_Blue_Tour_banner

Today we are SO excited to be the tour stop Goodbye, Rebel Blue‘s official blog tour, organized by Book Nerd Tours.  Goodbye, Rebel Blue by Shelley Coriell is a young adult contemporary novel that was released October 1, 2013 by Amulet Books.

About the Book

17290286

Goodbye, Rebel Blue
By Shelley Coriell
Pub: Amulet Books
10/1/2013
Genre: YA, Contemporary

Synopsis:

 
Rebecca Blue is a rebel with an attitude whose life is changed by a chance encounter with a soon-to-be dead girl. Rebel (as she’s known) decides to complete the dead girl’s bucket list to prove that choice, not chance, controls her fate.
In doing so, she unexpectedly opens her mind and heart to a world she once dismissed—a world of friendships, family, and faith. With a shaken sense of self, she must reevaluate her loner philosophy—particularly when she falls for Nate, the golden boy do-gooder who never looks out for himself.
Perfect for fans of Jay Asher’s blockbuster hit Thirteen Reasons Why, Coriell’s second novel features her sharp, engaging voice along with realistic drama and unforgettable characters.

Buy Goodbye, Rebel Blue at Amazon:

Buy Elsewhere:
Barnes & Noble | Books-A-Million | IndieBound

Add to Goodreads:
d8ea7-addtogoodreads

My Thoughts

“You Rebel Blue, are anything but ordinary.”

There are books that you know are going to be incredible.  Whether it is the title, the synopsis, or the cover, there is just some spark that pulls you in.  This, my friends, was one of those books.

I expected Rebel to know the girl she was completing the bucket list for.  I expected a lot of things; but Shelley Coriell surprised me in a lot of ways.  Good ways!  The emotions I felt didn’t come from the death of the girl (Kennedy) or from the completion of the tasks: the emotions I felt came from Rebel herself.  Things that Rebel experienced and went through and felt made my heart physically hurt.  I sobbed a lot during this book.  But it was for the character that was alive, and feeling, and trying to get a place in this world.

I loved that Rebel was such a dynamic character and personality.  She has a real chip on her shoulder, which isn’t all that hard to believe considering life hasn’t really done her any favors.  And yet, as she goes through this amazing change, she still remains true to herself and who she is as a person.  I loved how she kept having to explain to everyone how she was just trying to do something good.  It really showed how we get stuck on how people are and don’t see when they can change for the better.

The back-story add ins were so natural.  I hate when we see things looking back like they do in sitcoms… Where the cheesy music comes on and everyone looks off into the distance.  You know what I’m talking about!  But Shelley did a fabulous job and mixing past and present.

So, remember when I said I soak in some of the personality of the character I’m reading?  Well, Rebel convinced me to dye my hair red. Like, really, really red.  It’s something I have wanted to do for YEARS, but was always so afraid to do.  And then she convinced me.  And guess what, it is bold, and vibrant, and I.am.in.love.  So thank you, Rebel.  Thank you so much.

The bottom line is: this book is deep, not what I was expecting, and was so much more.  It will make you think, make you cry, and make you fall in love with the girl who marches to her own 275-member-band.

“The more time you spend thinking about something, the deeper it gets into your heart.”

Rebel, you definitely got into my heart.

Rating

4_5stars

About the Author

shelleycoriell

I’m a former newspaper reporter, magazine editor, and restaurant reviewer. These days I write smart, funny novels for teens and big, edgy romantic suspense. A six-time Romance Writers of America Golden Heart Finalist, I live and love in Arizona with my family and the world’s neediest rescue Weimaraner. When I’m not behind the keyboard, you’ll find me baking high-calorie, high-fat desserts and haunting local farmers markets for the perfect plum. Hugs!

Connect with Shelley

giveawaybutton

One Winner will get a swag pack with pen, journal, finished copy of GOODBYE REBEL BLUE + More! 

Must be 13+ To Enter – Shipping in the US Only

shelleycoriell

Click HERE to Enter

Goodbye_Rebel_Blue_Tour_banner

Check out the rest of the tour!

Book Nerd Tours

Tuesday, October 1st:
Literary Meanderings

 Wednesday, October 2nd:
Boho Book Lover

Thursday, October 3rd:
YA Between The Lines 

Friday, October 4th:
Ex Libris

Saturday, October 5th:
Such A Novel Idea 

Sunday, October 6th:
The Fiction Fairy

Monday, October 7th:
Queen Ella Bee Reads

Tuesday, October 8th:
Gone With The Words

 Wednesday, October 9th:
The Society

Thursday, October 10th:
Me, My Shelf and I

This promotional post was organized by:
BNTlogo

5 thoughts on “Blog Tour & GIVEAWAY — Goodbye, Rebel Blue by Shelley Coriell

  1. Great review! I read and reviewed this book a couple of days ago! I wasn’t on the tour, though. I loved Rebel’s personality and her growth as a person was one of my favorite things about the entire book. I’m usually a big plot person but for contemporary novels, I look for character growth, development, and that they become more accepting of themselves and others. Rebel did all three and I loved that! My only little problem was with Nate and Reb’s relationship. Nothing major, I just didn’t feel the attraction. But that’s probably just me! YAY for going out of your comfort range and dying your hair! I bet it looks great. When I was in high school I had a single teal highlight and LOVED it. I definitely connected with Rebel on that front (: I wish it was more socially acceptable in the work place or I would totally have it done again.

    PS-Sorry for the super long comment!

  2. Rebel sounds like such a great character and I love how you describe her growing and changing throughout the novel. Such a fabulous premise, I will be reading this soon. And yay for dying your hair (my philosophy when it comes to hair is that you can always change it–dye it, cut it, etc.–because it’s just temporary)!

    • Yeah, I had it black for awhile and I’ve been blond and red, but never RED like bright and in your face red. It was a bold choice, and I did buy a dark brown box for *just in case* but it all worked out. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Goodbye Rebel Blue by Shelley Coriell

Lovely words from lovely people!

