Top Ten Tuesday (18)

tttnew

It’s Top 10 Tuesday (hosted at The Broke and the Bookish) and the topic is:

Top Ten Books I Was “Forced” to Read

(either by teachers, friends, other bloggers, book club) — doesn’t necessarily have to be a BAD thing. Could be required reading, yes, but also book club, or just super enthusiastic friends “making” you read something!

I’m sure you’ll all be shocked to know that I haven’t wanted to read every book I’ve picked up.  Or even read every book I was supposed to (collective shocked gasps can be heard blog-wide).  It’s true.  Sometimes I have to read books and just like everyone else, I usually begrudge the book because of the force.  So, here are some of those!

Books I Was “Forced” to Read

 

The Ones I Didn’t Care For

The Ones I Ended Up Loving

So, that’s it.  What about you?  What setting did you pick this week?

heartjessteal

30 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (18)

    • LMAO I didn’t at the time I read it. I was in 9th grade and thought it was stupid and impractical to kill yourself over someone you barely knew.

      Now obviously I can appreciate the play a bit more. But right now I’m mad at Shakespeare, which is why it went it that pile, lol.

  1. Night is also on my list of books I enjoyed but was “forced” to read! & I agree with Romeo and Juliet not being all that great. It was okay, but is totally over used in English courses.

  2. I loved The Great Gatsby but absolutely hated The Giver. I’m a huge fan of Shakespeare but Romeo and Juliet is my least favorite of his plays.

      • Yep, most likely! I’d much rather have read something else by him in place of R&J since so many shows and movies with middle/high school aged characters include them putting on that play.

        • I’m taking a Shakespeare class and a Lit Theory class now, so I’m getting to experience some lesser known works of his this semester. That’s been really cool, because based on R&J and Julius Caesar, I’d never really been a fan. Now I’m starting to get into it.

          • I’d actually forgotten Julius Ceasar until now haha I really liked Macbeth and Hamlet when I read them, and enjoyed the Much Ado About Nothing movie with Kenneth Branagh and Emma Thompson as well as a college production of Othello my brother’s college put on. I should really read those two….

Lovely words from lovely people!

