Top Ten Tuesday (20)

tttnew

It’s Top 10 Tuesday (hosted at The Broke and the Bookish) and the topic is:

Top Ten Best Books To Read For Halloween

Halloween is almost here!  This spooky season isn’t just about costumes and candy… it’s also about all those things that go bump in the night.  Here are ten books (or series) that get me in the Halloween spirit!

Best Books To Read For Halloween

 

shining

1. The Shining

It doesn’t get much scarier than this one.

dieforme
2. Die for Me Series

Revenaunts is a relatively new supernatural phenomenon in my reading repertoire, but it’s a great pick for Halloween.

bannerenclave
3. Enclave/Outpost/Horde

Zombies that aren’t zombies… I know I will actually be reading this one on Halloween!

the-soul-screamer-series
4. The Soul Screamers Series

There are SO many supernatural creatures in this one, it’s just a given!

forestofhandsandteeth
5. The Forest of Hands & Teeth

Zombies… again!  (Can you tell I’m kind of obsessed?)  This one is downright creepy!

maradyer
6. The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer

This one is a little unconventional, but it is creepy and messes with your mind.  Feeling like you are going crazy is just as scary as some horror in my book!

bannercityofbones
7. The Infernal Devices/The Mortal Instruments

I mean, the title is CITY OF BONES.  And there is actually a CITY OF BONES that you get to through going through a graveyard.  And people LIVE in this city.  It’s a given.

But there’s also Shadowhunters, dressing up, demons, vampires, werewolves, etc.  Yeah, these are definitely the right kind of book for this time of year!

bannersolitary
8. The Solitary Tales

This is the ULTIMATE Halloween choice.  Just don’t read in the dark!

PastMidnight
9. Past Midnight

Imagine your parents are world-famous ghost hunters.  And then you start seeing ghosts.  Yeah, it’s definitely the right time to pull out this book series!

harry potter
10. Harry Potter

There is NEVER a bad time to read Harry Potter. So it’s kind of a given.

Some runners-up:

The Deepest Cut Series
Awakening (Lily Dale #1)
Miss Peregrine’s Home…

So, that’s it.  What about you?  What setting did you pick this week?

heartjessteal

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (20)

  1. I still need to read Die For Me! I’ve FINALLY read the first HP book in September but need to finish the series..seems like a good Fall/Winter project! Totally agree with Mara Dyer. GREAT book to read around Halloween. What a mind-you-know-what. I need to read book 2 though!

    Also, btw your header is SUPER cute. IN LOVE.

    • Yes to all! Die for Me is a great series and you don’t even have to wait for the final book, Mara Dyer #2 went somewhere I didn’t expect and I don’t know what to think is going to happen next and HP is so amazing. I know it is hard to push through all seven when there are so many other things to focus on though.

      And THANK you 🙂

  2. Your list includes some of my favorite books. I actually just finished Horde and it was fantastic!! Loved it. And City of Bones, Harry Potter, Unbecoming of Mara Dyer…love all of those! I actually hadn’t heard of Past Midnight, I’ll have to check that one out.

    • Ahh Pam, you’re killing me! I can’t believe you are already finished, since I’m a bum and haven’t even started rereading Enclave yet. I’m glad to hear it is fantastic though. I need that after my broken heart from Allegiant.

      Past Midnight is a series and I actually really enjoyed it!

Lovely words from lovely people!

