Super Six Sunday (12)

SuperSixSundayII

Super Six Sunday is an original bookish meme created by Bewitched Bookworms and inspired by “Top Ten Tuesday” from The Broke and The Bookish .

Today’s topic is:

Super 6 Books I Can’t Wait To Read With My Kids

This is probably one of my favorite categories yet!  As a voracious reader, one of the biggest things I love is sharing my obsession with my kids.  Now, since they are 7 (boy) and 5 (girl), there are some books we haven’t been able to introduce yet.  And here are six I absolutely CAN NOT wait for!

six

alice_cover WizardofOz_BookCover

The Classics
Alice in Wonderland and Wizard of Oz

In September, I introduced The Wizard of Oz (the movie) to my kids.  Suffice it to say, I passed along my obsession.  Since they are both well versed in the movies, I can’t wait to share these two books with them so they can see the magic that started it all!

five

Book-Cover-the-phantom-tollbooth-1342828-311-475

The Phantom Tollbooth

I read this book in 7th grade and it is still one of my favorites.  If you haven’t read this (even if you are a teen or an adult), you should pick up a copy at your local library!

four

sideways-stories_5

The Wayside stories are HILARIOUS.  I already have these books on the shelf and ready for my kids to read in a year or two.

three

A_wrinkle_in_time_digest_2007

Another favorite from middle school.  I’ve read it again as an adult and I still ❤ it.  I can’t wait to show my kids the fun that comes with mixing science and fantasy.

two

magiciansnephew

One Christmas my sister got the entire boxed set of C.S. Lewis’ The Chronicles of Narnia.  I had to read The Lion, Witch, and the Wardrobe in 7th grade, and was pretty darn excited.  Once I started the Magician’s Nephew, I devoured the entire amazing series.

one

drew1wrap

One of my favorite childhood memories is sitting on the floor of the Corsicana Public Library looking at the row of yellow bindings that were the Nancy Drew series.  I was REALLY young, but already a book addict.  I kept going through smaller chapter books so quickly, so the librarian told me this was a series I might like.  That librarian changed my life that day — The Nancy Drew series was my first (of soooo many) book series.

And don’t worry — my dad STILL had to make me promise not to read the books so fast.  I was only able to get a couple at a time and I read them far too fast to fit so many trips to the library in.  And naturally, I broke that promise over and over again.   And my biggest wish is that MY kids will be the very same way.

And of course, the series that precedes all lists, that is a natural given:

harry potter

The day we start these books will be a day I will never forget!

So… who are some of YOUR favorite books you can’t wait to share with your kids?

heartjessteal

7 thoughts on “Super Six Sunday (12)

  1. Oh man I 100% am with you on this list! Well, I can’t speak for Wizard of Oz as I haven’t read the series. But all the others are personal absolute favourites! Did you ever read the Famous Five series? It’s more a UK/Kiwi thing, so you might not have heard it but I loved that series even more than Nancy Drew/Hardy Boys (and I read like 90% of those entire series haha)

    • I actually re-listened to the series on audiobook a couple of years ago (ironically enough, I was driving to Kansas to visit family!) and it was really ❤

      I have NOT read Famous Five, but I just looked it up and it sounds like something we will, err they will, love! Thanks for the suggestion!

  2. I just love your list! It’s giving me plenty of ideas for what to add to my own. I can’t believe I forgot Harry Potter – duh! That is such a no-brainer, but I guess I was just hoping my (future) kids will want to read that on their own 😉

    Cheers, Katarina 🙂

    • It’s funny, because I was thinking about it and I actually DO own all these books. I’ve been slowly building a library for them.

      And yes, HP is something we watch on tv a lot and my daughter carries the books around. We are waiting just a few more years, since the later part of the series gets so dark.

Lovely words from lovely people!

