My Bookish Confessions (5)

bookishconfessions

My Bookish Confessions is a new feature here at Such A Novel Idea.  I started this weekly feature to reveal some of my secret quirks when it comes to all things books.

My Bookish Confession (5)

I physically can’t bring myself to read my books that are signed by the author.

I feel kind of like Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde when it comes to my books.  I know a lot of people are obsessed with keeping their books in perfect condition.  Not me. I want them to be loved.  Touched. Highlighted. A worn book shows you care (IMO) not that you don’t value it.  Unless you’re one of these people.

bookdeath

And then you’re a murderer.

But, I digress.

So, I am pretty willy nilly with my books.  They are thrown around and put on shelves however. If a corner gets bent on a page, no big deal. Just shows the journey we took together.

harry hermione hug

SO imagine my surprise when I got my first signed book this summer.

And I put it on the top shelf. And couldn’t bring myself to take it down or open it up or do anything to mess it up.  And, now months and MANY signed books later, they are all on that shelf. Just hanging out, all lonely like the gang from Toy Story 3 when they are headed for the attic.

toystory3

I have even bought the e-books in addition to the signed books.  That way I can keep the signed copy in perfect condition and still read the book.

I don’t know what’s wrong with me.  My brain says that the books want to be loved, to be held and read and cherished.  But my heart just wants them to be revered a little, I suppose.

lizard tangled

·

So, that’s my eccentric quirk for the week.  What’s YOUR bookish confession?

heart jess new

16 thoughts on “My Bookish Confessions (5)

  1. I have a signed, limited-edition book that I have taken out of its plastic bag to have a quick skim of the drawings inside, but otherwise it just sits, still wrapped in its plastic bag to keep it safe (I had already read my library’s edition, anyway). I *did* read the other signed book I got, but that’s because, it being published by one of the big publishers, the e-book was going to take ages to come out…
    Now I have two more signed books on the way… I already own the ebook editions, so… (o:

  2. I read a signed book once, but I bought it off eBay so I don’t know if it counts. It certainly wasn’t like “ermagerd if I touch this I will die”, but I think I would be that way if I was the one who had gotten it signed.
    I’m going to an Aussie author event next year, and the author of my favourite book will be there. I will have to buy a new copy for her to sign because mine is all old and brown and gross, haha. And I know that I would never read it again if I got it signed. Hence the new one (Y)
    But yeah, I don’t think I could read them, either – you know, if Australia wasn’t considered Antarctica and completely unsuitable for author visits and I could actually get books signed *sobs*

  3. I totally agree with you! I have a hard time reading signed books. But if I do I’m extremely carefull with them. And I NEVER loan them out:)

    • Yes, I don’t think I could part with them. Not that I don’t trust people, but I know accidents happen. Then they’d feel bad. Then I’d feel bad. It’d be a whole feeling bad thing.

  4. Ha ha ha, Chiara… Australia? Try getting authors to come to New Zealand!! (Even worse, I’m at the “wrong” end of the country for those that do come). All my signed books are signed elsewhere and sent to me… I’ll still treasure them.

      • Oh, ya, I totally console myself by reminding myself how gorgeous the scenery is within only a few hours drive of my place (even less if you know where to look).
        So, come visit when you’ve got that best seller, eh? (o:

Lovely words from lovely people!

