My Bookish Confessions (7)

bookishconfessions

My Bookish Confessions is a new feature here at Such A Novel Idea.  I started this weekly feature to reveal some of my secret quirks when it comes to all things books.

My Bookish Confession (7)

2013 was the first year since 1999 that I didn’t read at least one book from the Harry Potter series.

harry potter

Christmas 1999 will live in infamy.  My parents in their infinite wisdom bought me a set of books — three in a series from an English writer that seemed to be getting a lot of buzz.  Not many people had heard of them and I certainly hadn’t.  But, being the person I am, I didn’t care! I was just happy to have new books to read.  We didn’t have a lot of money growing up and I NEVER had enough books (which is why the ones I had were read over and over).

So, anyways, I started reading the first book.  You may know it… Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. I read and finished it by the end of Christmas day.  I don’t even think I left my room to eat that afternoon.  And the next two or three days were spent holed up in my room devouring the rest of the series.  And the rest, they say, is history.

Since that year, I have made it an obsessive point to read the series at least once a year.  And even during my college years and first years of motherhood, where I didn’t really have time for lots of books, I made time for dear Harry.

So, I was sad to realize that I did not make time in my 234 book reading adventure to read any Harry.  Between ARCs and review requests, there just wasn’t time.  So to Harry, Hermione, and Ron — I’m sorry dear friends.

And now, I need to make a date with an old friend.

harry hermione hug

*Update* My sister (younger, middle) had this to say about this post:

“Hahaha I loved that post about Harry Potter.  I remember that day, you were not seen or heard.  Then, I remember you coming out and just handing me the book.  You simply said “You NEED to read this.”  HAHA, BEST book recommendation ever.”

·

So, that’s my eccentric quirk for the week.  What’s YOUR bookish confession?

heart jess new

10 thoughts on “My Bookish Confessions (7)

    • I added it up, and I’ve read the books individually somewhere between 60-70 times since they came out and the full series 14-16 times!

      That’s rather insane when you think about it, lol.

  1. Oh you’re making me cry! I haven’t been able to reread ANYTHING since I started blogging. Now I want to go back and reread HP! 🙂

  2. That’s great that you have a series you love so much you’ll read it once a year. I usually read Pride and Prejudice every year and there are a few series I’ve read more than once, but not every year. I’m actually thinking about rereading the Infernal Devices series again. Now that I know how it all ends, I can just relax and read it and enjoy it.

  3. Aw, memories! I remember I got the first book as a gift but I didn’t get around to it for a while. Then when hype about the movie came around, that’s actually when I started reading the series! *guilty chuckling*

Lovely words from lovely people!

