Being Sloane Jacobs by Lauren Morrill — Book Review

A book review

Today’s book review is for Being Sloane Jacobs by Lauren Morrill.

being-sloane-jacobs-cover

About the Book

The Deets

author: Lauren Morrill

release date: January 7, 2014

format: e-ARC, hardcover

pages: 352 pages

publisher: Delacorte Press/Random House

Read: January 11-12, 2014

Acquired: Netgalley

Book Pages: Amazon.com • Goodreads.com •  Author’s Website

Book Type: YA, Contemporary, Poetry

The Down-low

Meet Sloane Emily Jacobs: a seriously stressed-out figure-skater from Washington, D.C., who choked during junior nationals and isn’t sure she’s ready for a comeback. What she does know is that she’d give anything to escape the mass of misery that is her life.

Now meet Sloane Devon Jacobs, a spunky ice hockey player from Philly who’s been suspended from her team for too many aggressive hip checks. Her punishment? Hockey camp, now, when she’s playing the worst she’s ever played. If she messes up? Her life will be over.

When the two Sloanes meet by chance in Montreal and decide to trade places for the summer, each girl thinks she’s the lucky one: no strangers to judge or laugh at Sloane Emily, no scouts expecting Sloane Devon to be a hero. But it didn’t occur to Sloane E. that while avoiding sequins and axels she might meet a hockey hottie—and Sloane D. never expected to run into a familiar (and very good-looking) face from home. It’s not long before the Sloanes discover that convincing people you’re someone else might be more difficult than being yourself. (From Goodreads.com)

My Thoughts

Being Sloane Jacobs is a modern day Princess & The Pauper meets Parent Trap meets any other movie made where the main characters swap lives. While reading it, I got a definite John Hughes-esque feel from it – but that could be because both main characters were named Sloane (and one was named from the movie!)

In essence, the book is about two girls – both named Sloane Jacobs – who are sent to Montreal for summer skate camps. One is rich, one is not. One plays hockey, one is a figure skater. Both are looking for a vacation from the mess that is their lives.

If you can get over the hilarious coincidences that lead both girls to meet (i.e. two American girls with the same name just happen to stay in the same hotel in a foreign country to start skate camps the very next day), then you’re in for a cute and fun read. This is definitely beach-read worthy, even though it’s set on ice and comes out in January. Is it perfect? No? Does the plot have holes? Yes? Is it a fun read? YES! I am the master of suspending beliefs and so this one was the perfect Sunday afternoon read.

One thing I loved was that even though it was told from two girls POVs, the characters were different enough in personality, that I didn’t go “Now wait, who’s talking?” I can’t stand books where I constantly have to be reminded who is talking.

And Lauren Morrill does a fantastic job making me interested in sports. This is the second YA book I’ve read with sports (see my review of Julie Cross’ Letters to Nowhere, which deals with the world of competitive gymnastics), and I’ve actually enjoyed both. So high five to that. (I am anti-sports in real life, so it takes a lot to get me interested in a book).

The love interests are adorably swoon-worthy and the fact that we got not one, but TWO to giggle over was just great.  But we’ve also got twice the mean girls, friends, and learning about the whole ‘grass is greener on the other side’ concept. Sloane Devin is angry, but she is also snarky (“And there’s a bow tied around it. A bow. A pink bow. This does not bode well.)  Her comments had me laughing out loud at times.  And Sloane Emily is finally able to come out from under the limelight of her family that she has tried so hard to hide from.  All in all, the switch was a really great thing for both girls.

I do feel like things wrapped up very nice and easy, and not everything was dealt with or addressed, but that was okay, because this was more of a light, breezy book and I felt happy reading it. And completely off topic, but I just LOVED the font they used for the cover and the hearts they chose for chapter breaks.  Definitely added to the adorable. Overall, I found myself enjoying it and look forward to more books by Lauren Morrill.  Someone get me Meant to Be stat!

MEANT TO BE cover

Rating

4stars

About the Author

NEW Lauren Morrill author photo (credit Vania Stoyanova )

Lauren Elizabeth Morrill grew up in Maryville, TN, where she was a short-term Girl Scout, a (not so) proud member of the Maryville High School marching band, a trouble-making editor of the MHS school newspaper, and the treasurer of the National Honor Society (until she was unceremoniously stripped of her title and kicked out … true story).  In her senior AP English class she gave her speech of valediction about how she would someday be a writer for Rolling Stone (which could still happen …).

Upon her graduation from high school, she high-tailed it out of the south to attend Indiana University, where she became a proud Hoosier and dodger of substantive math and science courses. She was a journalism major, a music major, and a history major, though she ultimately only graduated with the History degree (and a string of ex-boyfriends). She still has no idea what she’ll do with it.

In her lifetime she has worked as a cashier at Target and at a grocery store, as a khaki-folder and greeter at the GAP, a balloon-animal making, face-painting clown, a receptionist at a real estate agency, a (failed) babysitter, a curatorial assistant at the world’s largest children’s museum, and a hostess and busser at an Irish pub. She has also held a myriad of jobs in higher education, from admissions to residence life and back again. She is now proud to call herself an Author. With a capital A.

Lauren lives in Macon, GA with her husband Adam (a public radio reporter/producer) and their dog Lucy (who is seriously practically their child). (Bio from Author website.)

Connect with Lauren

Website | Facebook | Goodreads | Twitter

·

heart jess new

9 thoughts on “Being Sloane Jacobs by Lauren Morrill — Book Review

  1. I’ve seen Being Sloane Jacobs on blogs everywhere, but, until now, I have not read any of the reviews. Now that I know that this book is about skating (I went through a huge skating phase when I was little, and now I’m writing a story about skating), I just HAVE to add it to me to-reads list.

  2. I’ve seen Being Sloane Jacobs on blogs everywhere, but, until now, I have not read any of the reviews. Now that I know that this book is about skating (I went through a huge skating phase when I was little, and now I’m writing a story about skating), I just HAVE to add it to my to-reads list.

  3. I loved how easily you could differentiate between narrators in this book! And it was so cute and fun. If you liked this one, I think you’ll definitely enjoy Meant to Be, which I actually liked better. 🙂

    • At first I really liked Sloane Emily. I liked her voice and even though I have no idea how it feels to be her, I understood her and where she came from.

      But Sloane Devin was just so funny. I got her anger and her spunk and I loved that about her.

      So… both 🙂

Lovely words from lovely people!

