Such a Novel Idea is Growing: Meet Loren

welcome to heartjess

2013 was the year that started off incredibly crappy and ended incredibly awesome.  A lot of the awesome part has to do with this blog, college, and starting a new job I absolutely adore.  I’ve made a LOT of new friends, online and in real life.  I had to take some pre-reqs this year, so I was in a few undergrad classes for the first time since 2008!  In Creative Writing, we were kind of forced to bare our souls with our classmates.  In Shakespeare we were challenged to think so critically that sometimes our brains hurt.  But, it was in these two incredibly difficult classes that I made a new awesome friend, Loren.  Loren (whose real name is actually Jessica – go figure!) and I sat next to one another and had all kinds of fun.  We discovered we had so many things in common, especially books.

After the class ended, we decided to start working on a book series together.  It’s pretty dang awesome y’all.  It was at the same time that I had been contemplating adding someone to the Such a Novel Idea staff.  More reviews, someone to help grow the blog, etc.  I just kind of knew Loren would be perfect for the job.

So, meet Loren:

lorenv

Loren is the sweetest person you will meet, but writes the most terrifying (and awesome) pieces of work!  She is a true fan girl and a literature nerd.  Here’s a bit from her bio:

I’m a twenty-something small-town girl from East Texas, who is an unassuming country girl at heart, honest. I love to cook but more importantly, I am having an affair with Literature. Yes, every night I know I will have a drool-worthy fictional boyfriend waiting for me when I get to bed. Sometimes I get to see him through out the day but I know I can always count on him at night. I’m not always happy with him and he ticks me off to high heaven, but then again, isn’t that what a relationship is?

Loren will have her own feature, called “After Dark with Loren”.  She’ll also be reviewing and you’ll see more of her as we get things organized.  You may see a few changes to the blog as we integrate her in, so ‘please excuse our dust’.

Here’s how you can connect with Loren:

goodreads pinterest tumblr

She will be joining Twitter very soon, so look for that under the Connect with Us section.

  So, please welcome her to the family.  I’m excited, she’s excited, and I know you guys will be excited!

heart jess new

Tackle Your TBR Pile READ-A-THON

Read-a-thon Tackle Your TBR

The lovely ladies from Colorimetry and Tressa’s Wishful Endings have come up with this great Read-a-thon to help reduce our TBR pile. The Tackle Your TBR Read-a-thon begins September 8th and ends September 21st. You do not have to be a blogger to sign up – so check out their sign up pages and join in the fun! They will be using Twitter hashtag #TackleTBR.  You have until September 16 to sign up, so hurry over!

Have you figured it out yet?  I’m kind of sort of addicted to Read-a-thons

anigif_enhanced-buzz-29097-1375453313-20

anigif_enhanced-buzz-5017-1365431328-10

So the way this one works is easy… You’ve got from September 8 to 21st to read as many books in your TBR pile. And blog about it. Easy peasy.

Since I’m the queen of high expectations on read-a-thons, I’m going to go for 16 books.  Yes, I am.

anigif_enhanced-buzz-3582-1365346930-11

To make things easy, I’ll be keeping my stats all in this one post.  Let’s do this.

Sept 8: 

Book One: Relativity by  Cristin Bishara
Book Two: Chaos by Christine O’Neil (REVIEW)

September 9:

Book Three: 15 Minutes by Jill Cooper

September 10:

Book Four: Where The Sun Still Shines by Trish Doller

September 11:

Book Five: The King’s Guard by Rae Carson

September 12:

*No books*  — I took a night out with a friend, so no progress tonight.

September 13:

September 14:

September 15:

September 16:

September 17:

September 18:

September 19:

September 20:

September 21:

Top Ten Tuesday (4)

tttnew

It’s Top 10 Tuesday (hosted at The Broke and the Bookish) and the topic is:

Top Ten Books of 2013

I’ve gotta say it was hard to narrow down my favorite 10 books of this year (since I’ve already read 135, I had a large pool to choose from).  However, I was (almost) able to do it with a couple of runner ups.

So, without further ado…

My Top Ten Books of 2013

1. IncarnateAsunder by Jodi Meadows

This series BLEW ME AWAY!  I had never read anything like this before and it opened the door to more fantasy/reincarnation books in my repertoire.

2. Clockwork Princess (The infernal Devices) by Cassandra Clare

This entire series made me swoon, but I was really impressed with this last title. ❤

3. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Assassin Cinderella for the win!  I’m so excited about Crown of Midnight, I sometimes dream about it.

4. The Mortal Instruments Series by Cassandra Clare
    

I have to admit, the writing in the first book started off shakey, but the series got great as it went along.  And the story was AMAZING!

5. Shades of Earth by Beth Revis

Amazing conclusion to a fabulous sci-fi series.  This is the series to give to people who ‘don’t like’ sci-fi.  They won’t be able to say that afterwards!

6. The Girl of Fire and Thorns The Crown of Embers by Rae Carlson
 

Ahh, another fantasy/girl kicks butt book series.  The world building was incredible, and the main character was flawed — Rae Carlson  is awesome at her job!

7. Free Souls by Susan Kaye Quinn

If you haven’t read this amazing series by Susan Kaye Quinn, go buy now!  The best part is book 1 is FREE!

8. With All My Soul by Rachel Vincent

This was one of the most gut-wrenching books I’ve read in a long time. Seriously cried for days after I finished.  Incredible. ❤

9. Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi

X-men meets Hunger Games.

10. Requiem by Lauren Oliver

Even though I was disappointed in the end (I wanted more finality!), this is an incredible series!  This book left me in a daze for a few days.

And because I don’t follow rules well, here are a few others that deserve attention!

The runners up:

There by Denise Grover Swank

This two-part series was awesome!  Here/There is recommended for fans of Hunger Games, Enclave, and anyone who likes parallel universes.

Hurt by Travis Thrasher

This little indie series was creeptastic fun.  Just be sure to keep your lights on if you read it in the dark!

The Summer I Became a Nerd by Leah Rae Miller

Maybe light-hearted, but this book just really made me heart warm and fuzzy.  Comic Books, LARPing, and learning that your true self is more important than popularity.

So, what books are on YOUR list?