Top Ten Tuesday (4)

tttnew

It’s Top 10 Tuesday (hosted at The Broke and the Bookish) and the topic is:

Top Ten Books of 2013

I’ve gotta say it was hard to narrow down my favorite 10 books of this year (since I’ve already read 135, I had a large pool to choose from).  However, I was (almost) able to do it with a couple of runner ups.

So, without further ado…

My Top Ten Books of 2013

1. IncarnateAsunder by Jodi Meadows

This series BLEW ME AWAY!  I had never read anything like this before and it opened the door to more fantasy/reincarnation books in my repertoire.

2. Clockwork Princess (The infernal Devices) by Cassandra Clare

This entire series made me swoon, but I was really impressed with this last title. ❤

3. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Assassin Cinderella for the win!  I’m so excited about Crown of Midnight, I sometimes dream about it.

4. The Mortal Instruments Series by Cassandra Clare
    

I have to admit, the writing in the first book started off shakey, but the series got great as it went along.  And the story was AMAZING!

5. Shades of Earth by Beth Revis

Amazing conclusion to a fabulous sci-fi series.  This is the series to give to people who ‘don’t like’ sci-fi.  They won’t be able to say that afterwards!

6. The Girl of Fire and Thorns The Crown of Embers by Rae Carlson
 

Ahh, another fantasy/girl kicks butt book series.  The world building was incredible, and the main character was flawed — Rae Carlson  is awesome at her job!

7. Free Souls by Susan Kaye Quinn

If you haven’t read this amazing series by Susan Kaye Quinn, go buy now!  The best part is book 1 is FREE!

8. With All My Soul by Rachel Vincent

This was one of the most gut-wrenching books I’ve read in a long time. Seriously cried for days after I finished.  Incredible. ❤

9. Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi

X-men meets Hunger Games.

10. Requiem by Lauren Oliver

Even though I was disappointed in the end (I wanted more finality!), this is an incredible series!  This book left me in a daze for a few days.

And because I don’t follow rules well, here are a few others that deserve attention!

The runners up:

There by Denise Grover Swank

This two-part series was awesome!  Here/There is recommended for fans of Hunger Games, Enclave, and anyone who likes parallel universes.

Hurt by Travis Thrasher

This little indie series was creeptastic fun.  Just be sure to keep your lights on if you read it in the dark!

The Summer I Became a Nerd by Leah Rae Miller

Maybe light-hearted, but this book just really made me heart warm and fuzzy.  Comic Books, LARPing, and learning that your true self is more important than popularity.

So, what books are on YOUR list?