Top Ten Tuesday (7)

tttnew

It’s Top 10 Tuesday (hosted at The Broke and the Bookish) and the topic is:

Top Ten Authors Who Deserve More Recognition

Oh this is going to be an easy one.  Or hard.  Well, easy because I have SO many authors I can name, and hard because I can only name ten!  Eek, okay – let’s do this!

So, without further ado…

Top Ten Authors Who Deserve More Recognition

Indie Authors

1. Susan Kaye Quinn

Susan Quinn Author

What would you do if the whole world read minds… Except you?  This is how Susan’s first book in the Mindjacker series starts out.  This is one of my favorite book series.  The writing is excellent, the story is incredible, and it is a science fiction series with a kick ass female protagonist.  Oh and the first book is FREE.

2. Travis Thrasher

travisthrasher

Ahh THIS GUY!  I got Solitary free on Amazon when I first started reading e-books and forgot about it.  Then one day, I picked it up and ended up reading the first two books straight through that weekend.  From that day, I was one of those fans who waited (im)patiently to find out what would happen to Chris Buckley.  Thrasher created this world of monsters under the bed and things that go bump in the night that seem so real, you’ll end up reading the books with the light on. Thrasher writes all kinds of amazing books, but this series in my favorite.

3. Kaitlin Bevis

kaitlinbevis

Ahh, well you readers who have been here awhile know about my obsession with Persephone & Hades.  And Kaitlin has one awesome modern day retelling.  She also blogs about mythology, which personally I love reading.  This series is a combination of ancient myths and modern day romance.  And she plans to write more stories based in myth, which I am quite excited about!

Those You *May* Have Heard of

4. Jennifer Shaw Wolf

jennifershawwolf

I borrowed this book (Breaking Beautiful) on a whim from the library and it ended up being something I truly loved.  Her next book is coming out this year, and I can.not.wait.

5. Colleen Hoover

colleenhoover

You’ve heard of Colleen Hoover right?  Well, if you haven’t you live under a rock.  But I think she will keep getting bigger and I’m just so excited to be in on the secret.

6. Jodi Meadows

jodimeadows

This series has my FAVORITE covers.  And Incarnate had me sobbing in the first few chapters.  But seriously, this story is magical and one of the best of 2013.  I’m beyond excited for book three and hope that Jodi continues to blow up as an author!

8. Myra McEntire

myra-mcentire

I.love.this.series.  I heard about Hourglass in my Twilight fan days.  Book three comes out soon and the rights have been sold for a movie.  Crossing my fingers, we’ll get to see Hourglass on the big screen, which will definitely be awesome!  But Myra is a great author, this series is spectacular and this is one author I want to see get more recognition.

7. Beth Revis

bethrevis

Ahh another science fiction series.  And this series is a great introduction into sci fi.  The books have a lot of shocking twists and turns and Elder and Amy are such amazing characters.  Although the book series is over, I know whatever Beth comes up with next will be awesome.  If you don’t know her yet, you definitely should!

Just Arrived on the Scene

9. Ripley Patton

ripley_patton

I JUST learned about Ghost Hand and I’m still raving about it.  Ripley (which coolest name, huh?) has a great story, great writing, and an awesome book world that is unlike anything I’ve read before.  The best part is both books (Ghost Hand and Ghost Hold) were funded by Kickstarter.  Both books broke their goals, which helped fund the editing and cover fees.  Trust me on this one – you will love this book!  This is one author I can’t wait to see gain a bigger following than she already has!

10. J.A. Johannson

jr

I found this creeptastic cover on Netgalley when I first joined.  I kind of got spoiled because of how amazing the book is.  J.R. is awesome and I know this book series is going to be on a lot of people’s radars.  It just came out in June, so go buy your copy now!

 
So, that’s it.  What about you?  Who are some of your favorites?

heartjessteal

Follow on Bloglovin

Top Ten Tuesday (4)

tttnew

It’s Top 10 Tuesday (hosted at The Broke and the Bookish) and the topic is:

Top Ten Books of 2013

I’ve gotta say it was hard to narrow down my favorite 10 books of this year (since I’ve already read 135, I had a large pool to choose from).  However, I was (almost) able to do it with a couple of runner ups.

So, without further ado…

My Top Ten Books of 2013

1. IncarnateAsunder by Jodi Meadows

This series BLEW ME AWAY!  I had never read anything like this before and it opened the door to more fantasy/reincarnation books in my repertoire.

2. Clockwork Princess (The infernal Devices) by Cassandra Clare

This entire series made me swoon, but I was really impressed with this last title. ❤

3. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Assassin Cinderella for the win!  I’m so excited about Crown of Midnight, I sometimes dream about it.

4. The Mortal Instruments Series by Cassandra Clare
    

I have to admit, the writing in the first book started off shakey, but the series got great as it went along.  And the story was AMAZING!

5. Shades of Earth by Beth Revis

Amazing conclusion to a fabulous sci-fi series.  This is the series to give to people who ‘don’t like’ sci-fi.  They won’t be able to say that afterwards!

6. The Girl of Fire and Thorns The Crown of Embers by Rae Carlson
 

Ahh, another fantasy/girl kicks butt book series.  The world building was incredible, and the main character was flawed — Rae Carlson  is awesome at her job!

7. Free Souls by Susan Kaye Quinn

If you haven’t read this amazing series by Susan Kaye Quinn, go buy now!  The best part is book 1 is FREE!

8. With All My Soul by Rachel Vincent

This was one of the most gut-wrenching books I’ve read in a long time. Seriously cried for days after I finished.  Incredible. ❤

9. Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi

X-men meets Hunger Games.

10. Requiem by Lauren Oliver

Even though I was disappointed in the end (I wanted more finality!), this is an incredible series!  This book left me in a daze for a few days.

And because I don’t follow rules well, here are a few others that deserve attention!

The runners up:

There by Denise Grover Swank

This two-part series was awesome!  Here/There is recommended for fans of Hunger Games, Enclave, and anyone who likes parallel universes.

Hurt by Travis Thrasher

This little indie series was creeptastic fun.  Just be sure to keep your lights on if you read it in the dark!

The Summer I Became a Nerd by Leah Rae Miller

Maybe light-hearted, but this book just really made me heart warm and fuzzy.  Comic Books, LARPing, and learning that your true self is more important than popularity.

So, what books are on YOUR list?

Indie Spotlight: Open Minds (Now Free!)

Today I want to spotlight an Indie series by the incredibly talented Susan Kaye Quinn.

website banner mindjack

The Mindjack triology is a young adult science fiction series.  There are three series novels, along with three novellas, known together as Mindjack origins.

 Open Minds by Susan Kaye Quinn

Open Minds (Book #1)

When everyone reads minds, a secret is a dangerous thing to keep.

Sixteen-year-old Kira Moore is a zero, someone who can’t read thoughts or be read by others. Zeros are outcasts who can’t be trusted, leaving her no chance with Raf, a regular mindreader and the best friend she secretly loves. When she accidentally controls Raf’s mind and nearly kills him, Kira tries to hide her frightening new ability from her family and an increasingly suspicious Raf. But lies tangle around her, and she’s dragged deep into a hidden world of mindjackers, where having to mind control everyone she loves is just the beginning of the deadly choices before her. (From Goodreads.com)

I first read Open Minds in 2011 and quickly fell in love with the story.  The writing was incredible, the story was insanely addictive, and I really kept thinking I was so lucky for A) stumbling across the book and B) finding it so cheap.  None of the books are more than $3.99 on Kindle, and you can buy the entire trilogy for $6.99.  Even more awesome, Susan Kaye Quinn released Open Minds permanently free on Kindle — so you don’t even have to pay for book one!

This book is full of action, science fiction, X-men like mind-powers, evil villains, romance, and girl-power.  It may be an ‘Indie’ book, but I’d put it on par with any mainstream published books any day.

For more information on the Mindjack trilogy, visit Susan Kaye Quinn’s website!

mjorigins

Amazon – Open Minds  • Goodreads – Open Minds

Susan Quinn AuthorAbout the Author

Susan Kaye Quinn is the author of the bestselling young adult SF Mindjack Trilogy. The just-released Debt Collector series is her more grown-up SF, meant for ages 17+.

Susan grew up in California, got a bunch of engineering degrees (B.S. Aerospace Engineering, M.S. Mechanical Engineering, Ph.D. in Environmental Engineering) and worked everywhere from NASA to NCAR (National Center for Atmospheric Research). She designed aircraft engines, studied global warming, and held elected office (as a school board member). Now that she writes novels, her business card says “Author and Rocket Scientist,” but she mostly sits around in her pajamas in awe that she gets paid to make stuff up.

All her engineering skills come in handy when dreaming up dangerous mindpowers, future dystopic worlds, and slightly plausible steampunk inventions. For her stories, of course. Just ignore that stuff in the basement.

Susan writes from the Chicago suburbs with her three boys, two cats, and one husband. Which, it turns out, is exactly as much as she can handle.
You can find her on Facebook way too often. Or you can reach her the old-fashioned way: susankayequinn (at) comcast (dot) net. (From author’s website)

Follow on Bloglovin