Top Ten Tuesday {10}

tttnew

It’s Top 10 Tuesday (hosted at The Broke and the Bookish) and the topic is:

Top Ten Books That Should Have Sequels

We all have them.  Books near and dear to our hearts that we just didn’t want to end.  I have to admit, that a lot of stand alone books I read I DON’T want a sequel — sometimes a book ends so perfectly that adding to it takes away from its magic.  So what are ten book I wish could go on?

Top Ten Books That Should Have Sequels

 

1. Harry Potter

hp7banner

But there are seven, Jessica.  I know that’s what you are thinking.  However, after the end, I didn’t want things to be over.  We Potter fans still have SO many other questions.  After this amazing Buzzfeed post, all my feels surfaced again.  Seriously, J.K., just one more!

2. Eleanor & Park

epbanner

I need to know those three word Rainbow.  I gotsta have them.

3. The Host

hostbanner

Seriously, we were promised a follow up SO long ago.  I loved the story and want to see more!

4. Requiem

requiembanner

Talk about an open-ended series finale.  I wanna know more!

5. Solitary/Hurt

solitarybanner

I know there were four books, but I’m just not ready to let go of Chris Buckley.

6. Choker

chokerbanner

This book was straight up CREEPY and disturbing.  So naturally, I wanna see where things go next.

7. Stupid Perfect World

spwbanner

Scott Westerfeld wrote an awesome world in this short story.  I definitely want to know more about this futuristic society.

8. Asphodel

asphodelbanner

Yeah this plays into my obsession with Persephone & Hades.  Lauren Hammond wrote this book in 2011 and I’ve been (im)patiently waiting for more.

9. Monsters of Men

konlgbanner

I need to know if he woke up.  Seriously, write more Patrick Ness!

10. Shades on Earth

shadesofearthbanner

This book series ended spectacularly.  Mainly I just LOVE Amy & Elder and want to see how they get along.

So, that’s it.  What about you?  What books do you want to see sequels for?

heartjessteal

Top Ten Tuesday (4)

tttnew

It’s Top 10 Tuesday (hosted at The Broke and the Bookish) and the topic is:

Top Ten Books of 2013

I’ve gotta say it was hard to narrow down my favorite 10 books of this year (since I’ve already read 135, I had a large pool to choose from).  However, I was (almost) able to do it with a couple of runner ups.

So, without further ado…

My Top Ten Books of 2013

1. IncarnateAsunder by Jodi Meadows

This series BLEW ME AWAY!  I had never read anything like this before and it opened the door to more fantasy/reincarnation books in my repertoire.

2. Clockwork Princess (The infernal Devices) by Cassandra Clare

This entire series made me swoon, but I was really impressed with this last title. ❤

3. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Assassin Cinderella for the win!  I’m so excited about Crown of Midnight, I sometimes dream about it.

4. The Mortal Instruments Series by Cassandra Clare
    

I have to admit, the writing in the first book started off shakey, but the series got great as it went along.  And the story was AMAZING!

5. Shades of Earth by Beth Revis

Amazing conclusion to a fabulous sci-fi series.  This is the series to give to people who ‘don’t like’ sci-fi.  They won’t be able to say that afterwards!

6. The Girl of Fire and Thorns The Crown of Embers by Rae Carlson
 

Ahh, another fantasy/girl kicks butt book series.  The world building was incredible, and the main character was flawed — Rae Carlson  is awesome at her job!

7. Free Souls by Susan Kaye Quinn

If you haven’t read this amazing series by Susan Kaye Quinn, go buy now!  The best part is book 1 is FREE!

8. With All My Soul by Rachel Vincent

This was one of the most gut-wrenching books I’ve read in a long time. Seriously cried for days after I finished.  Incredible. ❤

9. Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi

X-men meets Hunger Games.

10. Requiem by Lauren Oliver

Even though I was disappointed in the end (I wanted more finality!), this is an incredible series!  This book left me in a daze for a few days.

And because I don’t follow rules well, here are a few others that deserve attention!

The runners up:

There by Denise Grover Swank

This two-part series was awesome!  Here/There is recommended for fans of Hunger Games, Enclave, and anyone who likes parallel universes.

Hurt by Travis Thrasher

This little indie series was creeptastic fun.  Just be sure to keep your lights on if you read it in the dark!

The Summer I Became a Nerd by Leah Rae Miller

Maybe light-hearted, but this book just really made me heart warm and fuzzy.  Comic Books, LARPing, and learning that your true self is more important than popularity.

So, what books are on YOUR list?

Armchair BEA Day One — Introductions

armchairbea

Welcome to my blog, fellow Armchairs!  I’ve chosen five questions from the intros page to help you learn a little more about myself.

1. Please tell a little bit about yourself.

377319_576910197206_481161276_n

Well, here’s my ‘bio’: I’m a twenty something gal from the great state of Texas.  I’m a black sheep, off-the-cuff mom who looks at life from a realistic point of view.  I’m a nerd who loves school, reading, and writing.  My current obsessions include Doctor Who, British pop culture, the word oi, and Dove chocolate.  I spend all my free time with my nose in a book and occasionally work on penning the next great American novel.

I’ve spent my entire adult career working in higher education: admissions, financial aid, media relations, etc.  Basically, I am a college student who grew up and never left college.  I’ve taught English since 2009, and want to be a professor one day.  I’m working on my second Master’s degree, because obviously I love to torture myself.  I spent my first graduate degree and undergrad degree working on Communications and Journalism/PR.

2. Where in the world am I from?

2013-01-16 11.10.31I live with my family (hubby and two kids) in Texas, but am currently looking for work all over the US, so who knows where we’ll be soon enough.  It is beautiful here in East Texas, but we have three seasons… Fall, Summer, and Death.

3. What is your favorite book of 2013?

Oi, this is a hard one!  How about top five?

Clockworkprincesscoverthroneincarnaterequiem shades

4. If you could eat dinner with any author, which would it be and why?

I’d say John Green AND Veronica Roth.  (I know, I know, I can’t pick just one!)  Why?  Well, why not?  They are kind of my idols and I’d love to sit and chat about life, books, and writing.  Oh man, can you imagine how cool that would be?

5. What literary location would you most like to visit and why?

Hmm… Hogwarts. I don’t think that really need any explanation!

Well, there you have it… That’s me in a nutshell!  So welcome to my blog and hope you enjoy what you see.

Much love,

Jess

Follow on Bloglovin

Special shout-out to the awesome  Sarah of Puss Reboots for the Armchair BEA button!