Waiting on Wednesday (6)

wownew

Waiting on Wednesday weekly event that spotlights upcoming-releases that bloggers are most excited about.  This week’s I-can’t-wait book is: The Bitter Kingdom by Rae Carson.  The Bitter Kingdom will be released on August 27, 2013 by HarperCollins Publishers.

Bitter kingdom

The Bitter Kingdom
By Rae Carson

“Rae Carson has proved she’s a master and has shaken up the YA genre.”-USAToday.com

The epic and deeply satisfying conclusion to Rae Carson’s Fire and Thorns trilogy. The seventeen-year-old sorcerer-queen will travel into the unknown realm of the enemy to win back her true love, save her country, and uncover the final secrets of her destiny.

“Carson joins the ranks of writers like Kristin Cashore, Megan Whalen Turner, and Tamora Pierce as one of YA’s best writers of high fantasy.”-Locus magazine

Elisa is a fugitive in her own country. Her enemies have stolen the man she loves in order to lure her to the gate of darkness. As she and her daring companions take one last quest into unknown enemy territory to save Hector, Elisa will face hardships she’s never imagined. And she will discover secrets about herself and her world that could change the course of history. She must rise up as champion-a champion to those who have hated her most. Riveting, surprising, and achingly romantic, Rae Carson has spun a bold and powerful conclusion to her extraordinary trilogy. (Goodreads)

Why I Can’t Wait: 

I never even knew about this series until one day earlier this year the first book was on sale.  The premise of a flawed main character: a young girl who was overweight and under-appreciated struck me as so unique and underdone in YA.  Couple that with the fact that everyone expected her to be extraordinary, but she never felt that way, and I was sold.  And MAN, was I rewarded with what is now one of my favorite series.  Yes, Elisa was flawed, naive, and just trying to figure out life.  But when she needs to, she stands up for those who need her and has a faith and fervor that makes her a really great role model.

And of course, I really want more Hector time.  EEK!

About the Author

raecarsonI write books about teens who must do brave things. I’m originally from California, but I moved to Ohio to marry my husband, who is the smartest and therefore sexiest man I know. We live in Columbus with my teenage stepsons, who are awesome. My books tend to contain lots of adventure, a little magic and romance, and smart girls who make (mostly) smart choices. I especially love to write about questions I don’t know the answers to. (Photo and bio from Goodreads.com)

Connect with Rae

goodreads twitter facebook mail

Buy the Series

Click below to purchase the books on Amazon:
The Series
  

The Novellas
  

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

Follow on Bloglovin

Top Ten Tuesday (4)

tttnew

It’s Top 10 Tuesday (hosted at The Broke and the Bookish) and the topic is:

Top Ten Books of 2013

I’ve gotta say it was hard to narrow down my favorite 10 books of this year (since I’ve already read 135, I had a large pool to choose from).  However, I was (almost) able to do it with a couple of runner ups.

So, without further ado…

My Top Ten Books of 2013

1. IncarnateAsunder by Jodi Meadows

This series BLEW ME AWAY!  I had never read anything like this before and it opened the door to more fantasy/reincarnation books in my repertoire.

2. Clockwork Princess (The infernal Devices) by Cassandra Clare

This entire series made me swoon, but I was really impressed with this last title. ❤

3. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Assassin Cinderella for the win!  I’m so excited about Crown of Midnight, I sometimes dream about it.

4. The Mortal Instruments Series by Cassandra Clare
    

I have to admit, the writing in the first book started off shakey, but the series got great as it went along.  And the story was AMAZING!

5. Shades of Earth by Beth Revis

Amazing conclusion to a fabulous sci-fi series.  This is the series to give to people who ‘don’t like’ sci-fi.  They won’t be able to say that afterwards!

6. The Girl of Fire and Thorns The Crown of Embers by Rae Carlson
 

Ahh, another fantasy/girl kicks butt book series.  The world building was incredible, and the main character was flawed — Rae Carlson  is awesome at her job!

7. Free Souls by Susan Kaye Quinn

If you haven’t read this amazing series by Susan Kaye Quinn, go buy now!  The best part is book 1 is FREE!

8. With All My Soul by Rachel Vincent

This was one of the most gut-wrenching books I’ve read in a long time. Seriously cried for days after I finished.  Incredible. ❤

9. Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi

X-men meets Hunger Games.

10. Requiem by Lauren Oliver

Even though I was disappointed in the end (I wanted more finality!), this is an incredible series!  This book left me in a daze for a few days.

And because I don’t follow rules well, here are a few others that deserve attention!

The runners up:

There by Denise Grover Swank

This two-part series was awesome!  Here/There is recommended for fans of Hunger Games, Enclave, and anyone who likes parallel universes.

Hurt by Travis Thrasher

This little indie series was creeptastic fun.  Just be sure to keep your lights on if you read it in the dark!

The Summer I Became a Nerd by Leah Rae Miller

Maybe light-hearted, but this book just really made me heart warm and fuzzy.  Comic Books, LARPing, and learning that your true self is more important than popularity.

So, what books are on YOUR list?