Where the Stars Still Shine — Book Review

doller_stars

Continue reading

Pawn — Book Review

Pawn

The Deets

author: Aimee Carter

release date: November 26, 2013

format: e-book, hardcover

pages: 352 pages

publisher: Harlequin Teen

Read: October 4-6, 2013

Acquired: Edelweiss

series name: The Blackcoat Rebellion

Book Pages: Amazon.com  • Goodreads.com •  Author’s Website  

Book Type: YA, dystopian

The Down-low

For Kitty Doe, it seems like an easy choice. She can either spend her life as a III in misery, looked down upon by the higher ranks and forced to leave the people she loves, or she can become a VII and join the most powerful family in the country.

If she says yes, Kitty will be Masked—surgically transformed into Lila Hart, the Prime Minister’s niece, who died under mysterious circumstances. As a member of the Hart family, she will be famous. She will be adored. And for the first time, she will matter.

There’s only one catch. She must also stop the rebellion that Lila secretly fostered, the same one that got her killed …and one Kitty believes in. Faced with threats, conspiracies and a life that’s not her own, she must decide which path to choose—and learn how to become more than a pawn in a twisted game she’s only beginning to understand.(From Goodreads.com)

Why You Should Buy It

This ya dystopian is a political thriller with a unique and engaging plot.  The book starts of strong and twists and turns its way to the very end.  Fans of The Selection, Legend, Uglies, and Imposter will like Pawn.

My Thoughts

*I received this e-book in exchange for an honest review.*

I really enjoyed Aimee Carter’s Goddess Test series, so I knew I had to read her next series when it came out.  There were a lot of things I LOVED about this book, but some others that gave me pause — and caused me to give it a lower rating than I wanted.

This book started out SO strong.  We are right in the action.  The book opens with Kitty in the marketplace of her city — and she has just learned the fate of her life within a system of ranked citizens.  She is a III, which you can gather to be bad.  We have no idea what the test was like, but we do learn that Kitty is dyslexic and didn’t get the time she needed to perform as well as she could of.  She is marked on the back of her neck (like all citizens) with a tattoo that will permanently show her station.  So, she makes a stupid choice to take an orange, causing herself and her boyfriend Benjy to run from the law.  They chase her to the group home and search for her — all because of the color of her eyes.

Although Kitty gets out safely, she knows she cannot work as a III, when Benjy will get so much higher than that.  He is brilliant and she is devastated by her station — so devastated that she makes the bold choice to join another friend at a club where she can sell herself until she has enough money to flee.  I was actually really impressed by Carter’s choice’s up to this point — it is young adult, but she really captured the spirit of living with no options.  Here is a girl who has always lived in a group home, and has nowhere to turn but prostitution.  It was real, even if this is a dystopian world that I hadn’t quite figured out.

Of course Kitty is sold to the highest bidder for her first night, and she ends up being sold to someone who promises to make her a VII if she consents to an agreement.  Knowing she has no other options, and desperately wanting a better life, she obliges.  And wakes up finding she has been ‘masked’ to look exactly like a dead girl.  The President’s niece, Lila to be exacts.  Kitty’s rare eye color and similar build got her the job that she most likely would have never chosen had she really had the choice — to be someone else for the rest of her life.  She would never again look in the mirror and see her own reflection.  But, she would live in comfort.  So, there’s that.

Naturally, things within the highest ranks of the country are downright despicable.  And this my friends is where things took a left turn for me.  There were SO many things happening, it was hard to know which way was up and which way was down.  While we learn some pretty shocking things (like what happens when people are sent to Elsewhere), we have so much backstabbing and craziness happening that it murked the plot up.  It is nice to have a complicated plot, but this one was particularly tangled.

No to mention, I really did not get a sense of what the world is like, why it is that way, something that is getting more and more frustrating the more dystopian books I read.  I need details people, I need you to build a world like a map of words.

Another thing that happened was I lost connection with the characters.  Or maybe I never really had it.  I don’t know, but somewhere I was lost and never really got picked back up.

I did like the book and I do want to read more, but I think this book had SO much potential for greatness.  It was a really unique story line and started off so well.  I would definitely recommend it as a dystopian with lots of political entanglements, so if that is your sort of thing, you’ll love it.  It reminded me of The Selection and Legend, with the body snatching ways of Uglies.

Overall, I enjoyed the book, but found myself hoping for just a little more.

Rating

3_5stars

Blog Tour & GIVEAWAY — Twinmaker by Sean Williams

Twinmaker_Tour_Banner

Today we are SO excited to be the stop for Twinmaker‘s official blog tour, organized by Book Nerd Tours.  Twinmaker by Sean Williams is a young adult dystopian novel that was released (TODAY!) November 5, 2013 by Balzer + Bray.

Continue reading